In 2007, two graduate fellowship awards for medical applications were approved by the MTT-S AdCom. These awards seek to encourage students with a background in electromagnetics to become familiar with medical techniques and to apply their electromagnetic experience to the solution of medical problems. The range of problems addressed depends upon the imagination of the student and the advisor. It is expected that the student will interact with a medical institution to assure that information flows between those trained in the medical profession and the electromagnetic profession. These two graduate fellowship awards for medical applications will follow the same procedures currently utilized for the other six graduate fellowship awards. Applicants with questions about these two new graduate fellowships are encouraged to contact Roger Kaul,


Up to two $6000 awards may be granted each year. The number to be presented will be determined and budgeted by MTT-S Administrative Committee yearly. The awards are presented at the International Microwave Symposium (IMS) in June.

Key eligibility conditions for the award are:

  1. Applicant must have a B.S./B.A. in engineering, applied physics, computer science or other appropriate field from an accredited institution of higher learning.

2. Applicant must be enrolled in an MS, Ph.D. or M.D. program as a fulltime student in an accredited, degree granting institution of higher learning.

3. Applicant must be engaged in research necessary for the degree program, not just course work.

4. Research work must clearly involve the application of RF and microwave techniques to medical problems, supervised by a full-time faculty member.

5. Applicant must be a member of MTT-S.

6. Faculty supervisor must be a member of MTT-S

7. There are no restrictions as to applicant’s citizenship or location of the institution.


The student should submit the original and one copy, preferably doublesided, on 8.5”x11” or A4 sized paper, of the following:

1. A complete, legible, application form.

2. If available, email addresses and phone numbers to facilitate communication. Please print or type these to ensure that you can be contacted promptly when necessary.

3. The supporting documents described in the application form.

4. It is the responsibility of the student to ensure that letters of reference and other documents reach the address below by the deadline.

5. If the letters of reference are mailed directly to the address below, only one copy is needed otherwise please provide the original and one copy.

6. If any item(s) is missing the application will not be considered for the award.

Mailing address:

Roger Kaul

P. O. Box 213

Sykesville, MD 21784 USA

Phone: 301-394-4775              301-394-4775    



In the past years the applications had to be submitted by December 31. For the current year, please contact Roger Kaul.


 Winners will be notified by April 15 of the following year.

Recipients of the Award


Year 2009

Mr. Amin Arbabian, University of California, Berkley, California, USA

Mr. Quenton Bonds, University of Florida, Florida,Tampa, USA


 Year 2008

Mr. Khabat Ebnabbasi, University of Texas-Pan American, Texas, USA

Ms. Usmah Kawoos, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA